The Katie Klietz interview 

Biography 

I'm a senior majoring in Art Studies in a concentration in Art History, as well as a minor in French. I was born in Rochester, NY in 1999 (the year of the rabbit), and I'm an Aquarius. I have two fantastic parents, Roland and Dorine, and Sable has always been my favorite Animal Crossing NPC. I'm generally introverted and nervous, and I tend to surround myself with people who are equally introverted and nervous. Design and Color are my favorite things in the whole world, and I want to learn everything I can about them. I am currently applying to graduate school for my MFA in Art History and Curation, and I intern at the Frank Gallery in Chapel Hill! My preferred mediums are acrylic and gouache paints blended with some assemblage. 

  • Instagram

How would you describe the style of your work? 

I work mostly figuratively, with really gestural strokes. I like to add abstract details to my pieces to make them visually interesting.

 

What materials do you usually use in your art?

I use a lot of newspaper and paper mache for my commissions - I love the texture they give, and I love that they make the final product more of a surprise.

 

What motivates/inspires you to keep creating?  

Art history! Every time I learn something new in class, I feel inspired to take a whack at it myself. It's great for experimenting, and it keeps my work evolving. 

 

Is there a specific moment in time when you decided to hone your abilities and follow your passion for art? 

Yes! I met with Dr. Guinness during office hours one day Freshman year, and she encouraged me to listen to myself and follow my passion for art. I think it's made me a much happier person; I love what I'm studying. 

 

What is your ultimate goal as an artist? 

I think my ultimate goal is just to keep creating art that feels like me. :)

 

Best, 

Katie Klietz 

 

HOW TO BE COOL 

WE DELIVER 

WE SOCIALIZE

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

WE ANSWER

We Thought You'd

Never Ask

© 2020 by ART CASCADE.